Read this page aloud What is Recite? skip to content
Quick Links Hints



Staff

 

Prof Brian Ward, Professor in American Studies

Brian’s research focuses on the mass media, popular culture, the American South, and race relations.

phone: 0191 243 7060; brian.ward@northumbria.ac.uk


 

Dr Ishan Ashutosh, Lecturer in American Studies 

Ishan's research focuses on immigration, South Asian diasporas, and urban studies.

phone: 0191 243 7846; ishan.ashutosh@northumbria.ac.uk


 

Dr Victoria Bazin, Senior Lecturer in American Literature

Victoria's research interests are in twentieth-century American poetic modernism.

phone: 0191 227 3419; victoria.bazin@northumbria.ac.uk


  Dr Tanja Bueltmann , Senior Lecturer in History

Tanja’s research is in British World history, focussing in particular on ethnic associationalism in the Scottish and English diasporas.

phone: 0191 227 4761; tanja.bueltmann@northumbria.ac.uk 


  

Dr Michael Patrick Cullinane, Senior Lecturer in History

Michael’s research interests are in the history of the United States and transatlantic relations in the early twentieth century.

phone: 0191 227 4606; michael.cullinane@northumbria.ac.uk


 

Dr Ian Davidson, Reader in English

Ian's current interest lies in space and spatialisation in modern and contemporary poetry 

phone: 0191 243 7802; ian.c.davidson@northumbria.ac.uk 


Dr Clare Elliott, Lecturer in Nineteenth-Century Literature

Clare's current research engages with Transatlantic Literary Studies in the long  nineteenth century. 

phone: 0191 227 4826; clare.elliott@northumbria.ac.uk  


  

Prof Sylvia Ellis, Professor in International History 

Sylvia's research interests lie in post-1945 British and American political and diplomatic history.

phone: 0191 227 3736; sylvia.ellis@northumbria.ac.uk


  

Dr David T. Gleeson, Reader in History 

David's research interests are in the Irish in the Atlantic World and the English Diaspora.

phone: 0191 227 3707; david.gleeson@northumbria.ac.uk


 
 

Dr Nick Hayward, Principal Lecturer in Politics

Nick's research interests are in comparing British and American views of democracy, and symbolic politics and political attitudes.

phone: 0191 227 4574; nick.hayward@northumbria.ac.uk


 

Prof Peter Hutchings, Professor in Film Studies

Peter's research interests are in film and television history; the horror film; science fiction; the thriller.

phone: 0191 227 3735; peter.hutchings@northumbria.ac.uk


 

Dr Henry Knight, Lecturer in American Studies 

Henry works in American History in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, especially race, region, environment, and expansion.

phone: 0191 243 7949; henry.knight@northumbria.ac.uk


 

Dr Randall Stephens, Reader in American Studies

Randall researches American religious history, United States South, Pentecostalism and American popular music  

phone: 0191 243 7848; randall.stephens@northumbria.ac.uk


  

Dr Joe Street, Senior Lecturer in History 

Joe’s work focuses on the interaction between African American politics and culture in twentieth century.

phone: 0191 227 4182; joe.street@northumbria.ac.uk 


   

Dr Julie Taylor, Lecturer in American Studies

Julie researches American and transatlantic modernism, with a focus on psychoanalysis and queer theory.

phone: 0191 277 3463; julie.taylor@northumbria.ac.uk  


  

Dr Melanie Waters, Senior Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature 

Melanie's research is in nineteenth- and twentieth-century American poetry. 

phone: 0191 227 3474; melanie.waters@northumbria.ac.uk