Read this page aloud What is Recite? skip to content
Quick Links Hints



Staff

Please click on the individual staff member's profile below for further details. Please also browse the profiles of History's Visiting Scholars, Fellows and Associates


Dr Charlotte Alston, Senior Lecturer in History

Charlotte's research interests are in international history, 1890 -1945, especially the history of Russia and Eastern Europe.

contact: +44 (0)191 243 7231; charlotte.alston@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Tanja Bueltmann, Principal Lecturer in History

Tanja's research is in British World history, focussing in particular on ethnic associationalism in the Scottish and English diasporas.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4761; tanja.bueltmann@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Michael Patrick Cullinane, Senior Lecturer in History

Michael's research interests are in thehistory of the United States and transatlantic relations in the early twentieth century.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4606; michael.cullinane@northumbria.ac.uk



Professor Sylvia Ellis, Professor in International History

Sylvia's research interests lie in post-1945 British and American political and diplomatic history.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3736;sylvia.ellis@northumbria.ac.uk


Professor David T. Gleeson, Professor in American History

David's research interests are in the Irish in the Atlantic World and the English Diaspora.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3707; david.gleeson@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Anja-Silvia Goeing , Anniversary Fellow in History

Anja is interested in European intellectual history, the history of scholarship and books, the history of science, and the history of education, 1420 to 1800.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4441; anja-silvia.goeing@northumbria.ac.uk



Dr Joe Hardwick, Lecturer in History

Joe's research interests lie in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century British political and imperial history.

contact: +44 (0)191 243 7315; joseph.hardwick@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Alan Harvey, Senior Lecturer in History & Admissions Tutor

Alan's teaching and research interests are in the economic history of the Byzantine Empire, especially from the tenth century.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3727; alan.harvey@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Henry Knight, Lecturer in American Studies

Henry works in American History in the late19th and early 20th centuries, especially race, region, environment, andexpansion.

contact: +44 (0)191 243 7949; henry.knight@northumbria.ac.uk


Andrea Knox, Senior Lecturer in History

Andrea is currently researching early modern Irish women migrants in Spain and Portugal.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3193; andrea.knox@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Ewan Knox, Senior Lecturer in History

Ewan's research interests lie in the social history of work, especially morbidity and injury in the work environment.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4763; e.knox@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Laqua, Senior Lecturer in History

Daniel's research is concerned withtransnational movements and associations in 19th/20th-century Europe.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3491; daniel.laqua@northumbria.ac.uk


Professor Tom Lawson, Professor in History

Tom's research interests are in the broad areas of holocaust and genocide studies.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4515; tom.lawson@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Gaby Mahlberg, Lecturer in History

Gaby's research is in the intellectual and cultural history of 17th-century Britain, especially the history of English republicanism.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4666; gaby.mahlberg@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr James McConnel, Reader in History

James's research relates to Irish Nationalist MPs and the development of Protestant commemorations in the British World.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3946; james.mcconnel@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Neil Murphy, Lecturer in Early Modern History

Neil's research is principally focused on the history of France during the 15th and 16th centuries.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4221; neil.murphy@northumbria.ac.uk


  Tawny Paul

 Dr Tawny Paul, Lecturer in Early Modern History

Tawny's research is focused on the economic and social history of early-modern Britain, especially on urban history, economic culture, gender, and the lives of non-elites.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3880; tawny.paul@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Dr Colin Reid, Senior Lecturer in History

Colin's research focuses on 19th- and 20th-century Anglo-Irish and imperial history.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4306; colin.w.reid@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Nicole Robertson, Senior Lecturer in History

Nicole's research interests include the co-operative movement in Britain andretailing, consumption and consumer protection.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 3738; nicole.robertson@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Randall Stephens, Reader in American Studies

Randall researches American religious history, United States South, Pentecostalism and American popular music

contact: +44 (0)191 243 7848; randall.stephens@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Joe Street, Senior Lecturer in History

Joe's work focuses on the interaction between African American politics and culture in twentieth century.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4182; joe.street@northumbria.ac.uk


Dr Avram Taylor, Senior Lecturer in History

Avram's research interests are in historical sociology, and the relationship between history and theory in general.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4923; avram.taylor@northumbria.ac.uk


Professor Brian Ward, Professor in American Studies

Brian's research focuseson the mass media, popular culture, the American South, and race relations.

contact: +44 (0)191 243 7060; brian.ward@northumbria.ac.uk


Professor Tony Webster, Professor in History

Tony's research focuses on British imperial and business history, and the history of the co-operative movement.

contact: +44 (0)191 243 4458; tony.webster@northumbria.ac.uk


Howard Wickes, Principal Lecturer & Programme Director

Howard's research interests are in intellectual and cultural history, especially of early-modern Europe.

contact: +44 (0)191 227 4923; howard.wickes@northumbria.ac.uk