Skip navigation

Honorary Graduates


Northumbria University awards honorary degrees to individuals who have obtained the very highest standards of scholarship, outstanding achievement or distinction worthy of national or international recognition in their academic or professional field.

They are also awarded to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the University in support of its mission. For example, through long and meritorious service, distinction far beyond the usual remit of their role, or through philanthropy in support of the University’s strategic objectives.

Honorary graduates reflect the diversity of communities that the University serves and provide an example of ambition and achievement to our students and graduands. Honorary degrees are awarded each year at the University’s congregation ceremonies in Newcastle upon Tyne in July and December or overseas at one of its partner institutions.  In special circumstances, honorary degrees will be awarded at other University events.

1989 - 1994


Derek Webster Hon MA


The Lord Glenamara Hon DLitt (d)

Dorothy Blenkinsop Hon MSc          

Dr Cyril Lipman Hon LLD (d)  


John Drew Hon MBA


Cardinal Basil Hume Hon LLD (d)

Her Grace, Elizabeth Percy, Duchess of Northumberland Hon DLitt (d)          

Gordon Sumner (Sting) Hon DMus               

Sir George Russell Hon DBA     

Robin Birley Hon DLitt

Councillor Mrs Joan Lamb Hon MA

Lord Chief Justice Peter Taylor Hon LLD (d)


 His Excellency Mr Hiroshi Kitamura Hon DCL

Sir Ron Dearing Hon DCL (d)

John Fenwick Hon DCL

Brian Roycroft Hon MA (d)


Katharine, Duchess of Kent Hon DCL

Melvyn Bragg Hon DCL

Dr Susan Hurley Hon DCL (d)

The Right Reverend David Jenkins Hon DCL

Sir Claus Moser Hon DCL (d)

Laurence Eilbeck Hon MA (d)

Irene Oxnard Hon MA








1995 - 1999


Tony Blair Hon DCL

Jack Charlton Hon DCL

Norman Cornish Hon DCL (d)

Yvonne Moores Hon DCL

Joe Mills Hon MBA (d)


Her Majesty, Queen Sonia Hon DCL

Professor Laing Barden CBE Hon DCL

Professor Martin Trow Hon DCL (d)

Sir Christian Bonington CBE Hon DCL

Kevin Whately Hon DCL

Mike Figgis Hon DCL

Toshihiro Hamano Hon DCL

Andrew Foster Hon DCL


The Right Reverend Alec Graham Hon DCL

Sir William Utting Hon DCL

Alan Plater Hon DCL (d)

Bridget Gubbins Hon MA


Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand Hon DCL

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Ali Abul Hassan bin Sulaiman Hon DCL (d)

Robson Green Hon DCL

Robert Andrew Hon DCL

Reay Atkinson Hon DCL


James Graham OBE Hon DCL

Kamlesh Bahl CBE Hon DCL

Sir Nicholas Goodison Hon DCL

Professor Edward Wragg Hon DCL (d)

Sir Peter Bonfield Hon DCL

Sir Michael Latham Hon DCL










2000 - 2004


Graham Wylie Hon DCL

Paul Polman Hon DCL

Sir Donald Irvine CBE Hon DCL

Jonathan Ive Hon DCL


Professor Sir Brian Fender CMG Hon DCL

Quentin Blake OBE Hon DCL

Eva Schloss Geiringer Hon DCL

Sir John Stevens QPM Hon DCL

Bruce Oldfield Hon DCL


Dr Adam Hart-Davis Hon DCL

Lawrence Christensen CBE Hon DCL

Jane Wilson Hon DCL

Louise Wilson Hon DCL

George Gill CBE Hon DCL

James Alder Hon DCL (d)

Eric Robson Hon DCL

Peter McKendrick Hon DCL


Alexey Mordashov Hon DCL

Peter Horbury Hon DCL

Stephen Cram MBE Hon DCL

Sean O’Brien Hon DCL

Lord Hunt of Tanworth CB KCB GCB Hon DCL (d)

Iain Bain Hon DCL (d)

Brendan Foster MBE Hon DCL


Christopher Garnett Hon DCL

Hari Shukla OBE Hon DCL

John Squires OBE DL Hon DCL

Jonathan Edwards MBE CBE Hon DCL

Nicholas Baring CBE Hon DCL

Raymond Cole Hon DCL (d)

The Right Reverend Ambrose Griffiths OSB Hon DCL (d)


2005 - 2009


Professor Albert Aynsley-Green Hon DCL

Dr John Bridge Hon DCL

Tam Dalyell Hon DCL

Lord Mason of Barnsley Hon DCL (d)

Leo Finn Hon DCL

Max Mosley Hon DCL

Sir Michael Tomlinson CBE Hon DCL

George Davies Hon DCL

Sir Keith Povey QPM Hon DCL

Michael Neville MBE Hon DCL (d)

Jonathan Wilkinson Hon DCL


Dr Beverly Malone Hon DCL

Graeme Danby Hon DCL

Valerie Reid Hon DCL

Professor Thomas Albrecht Hon DCL

Jonathon Porritt Hon DCL

Nigel Sherlock Esq OBE Hon DCL

Professor Sir George Alberti Hon DCL

Professor Senga Bond Hon DCL

Professor Alan Maynard Hon DCL

Alan Shearer OBE Hon DCL

Dick Clement Hon DCL

Ian La Frenais Hon DCL


Kathryn Tickell Hon DCL

Conrad Dickinson Hon DCL

Professor Sir Miles Irving Hon DCL

Matron Hajjah Bibi Florina Abdullah Hon DCL

Sir Stelios Haji-Ioannou Hon DCL

Karen Price OBE Hon DCL

Sir George Cox Hon DCL

John Clough MBE Hon DCL


Professor Dame Christine Beasley DBE Hon DCL

Haydn Biddle Hon DCL

Andrew Dixon Hon DCL

Dr Angela Gallop Hon DCL

The Most Reverend and Right Honourable Dr John Sentamu Hon DCL

Dr Tony Trapp Hon DCL

Victoria Pendleton Hon DCL

Stephen Miller Hon DCL


Gavin Black Hon DCL

Peter Allan OBE Hon DCL

Gerald Ronson Hon DCL

Professor Dong-Young Jang Hon DCL

Shaun Michael Kearney Hon DCL

Steven Kyffin Hon DCL

Dr Charles Modica Hon DCL






2010 - 2014


Lord Laming of Tewin Hon DCL

Dr Maggie Atkinson Hon DCL

Right Honourable Sir Alan Beith MP Hon DCL

Professor Kel Fidler Hon DCL

Fra’ Matthew Festing Hon.DD

Andrew Festing Hon DLitt

The Right Reverend Dr Tom Wright Hon DD

Martin Corry MBE Hon DCL


Sir Leonard Fenwick CBE Hon DSc

Bibiana Aido Almagro Hon DCL

Peter Millican Hon DLitt

Marshall Hall Hon DLitt

Lord Shipley of Gosforth OBE Hon DCL

Sir Michael Darrington Hon DCL

Trevor Mann Hon DSc

Sir Ian Wrigglesworth Hon DMus

Jim Beirne Hon DLitt


Professor Sir Michael Marmot Hon.DSc

Gary FitzGerald Hon DSc

Catherine Hatch Hon DSc

Godfrey Worsdale Hon DCL

Bryan Talbot Hon DLitt

Sir Peter Carr CBE Hon DCL

Professor Mary Dunning Hon DCL

Lee Hall Hon DLitt


Professor David McQuoid-Mason Hon DCL

Professor Howard Thomas Hon DCL

Paul Collingwood MBE Hon DCL

Christopher Moore Hon DCL

Val McDermid, Hon DLitt

Her Grace Jane Percy, Duchess of Northumberland Hon DCL

Clarence Sarkodee-Adoo Hon DMus

Lord Walton of Detchant Hon DCL


Vera Baird QC Hon DCL

Baroness Howells of St David OBE Hon DCL

Brian Johnson Hon DMus

Max Roberts Hon DLitt

Ørnulf Opdahl Hon DCL  




2015 - 2019


Baroness Susan Greenfield CBE, Hon DSc

Right Honourable the Lord Falconer of Thornton QC Hon DCL

George Clarke Hon DCL

Jeremy Paxman Hon DLitt

Sir Tim Clark KBE Hon DCL

Alexander Armstrong Hon DLitt

Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson DBE DL Hon DCL


Andrea Siodmok Hon DCL

Dr Arnab Basu MBE, Hon DSc

Jayne-Anne Gadhia Hon DCL

Dr Weerakoon A Wijewardena Hon DCL

Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM, DBE, Hon DSc


Adam Serfontein Hon DCL

Bea Campbell OBE Hon DLitt

Professor Kevin Fenton Hon DSc

Lord Mackay of Clashfern Hon DCL

Harry Christophers Hon DMus


The Rt Hon the Baroness Hale of Richmond DBE, Hon DCL

Professor Mary Beard OBE, Hon DLitt

Linda Speldewinde Hon DCL

Wee Teng Woon and Tek Seng Woon Hpn DCL

Jonathan Ruffer Hon DCL

David Olusoga OBE Hon DLitt


Dr Tristram Hunt Hon DCL

Professor Julia Yeomans Hon DSc

Louise Trotter Hon DCL



Back to top