Skip navigation

About OSCE

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) launched a new version of Test of Competence (ToC) for nurses and midwives on 2 August 2021.

OSCE - Observed Structured Clinical Examination – is part two of the Test of Competence and is a practical exam testing clinical and communication skills.

You are able to sit the Part One CBT or Part Two OSCE in any order, however both parts must be completed successfully to continue with initial registration or re-admission application.

OSCE Structure

The new OSCE has 10 stations:

  • Four stations will continue to be linked together around a scenario: the APIE (one station for assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation)
  • Four stations to test skills (two pairs of two skills)
  • Two new stations to assess the candidate's values and behaviours and evidence-based practice.

Legacy OSCE

We are committed to delivering the Legacy Test of Competence 2014 until August 2022 for some candidates or employers who have registered for the examination before August 2021. Please note after August 2022 all examinations will be Test of Competence 2021.

The legacy OSCE is made up of six stations:

  • Four stations are based around a scenario: the APIE (one station for assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation).
  • Two stations test practical clinical skills.

For more information on the Legacy Test of Competence 2014 and the Test of Competence 2021 please visit the NMC website at the links below;

If you are interested in completing your Observed Structured Clinical Examination at Northumbria’s OSCE Testing Centre or you as an organisation are planning for your current or future staff to undertake the OSCE Test of Competence please complete the Register Your Interest form by clicking on the button below, and you will receive further information regarding the examination and bookings in due course.


Back to top