Skip navigation

Vice-Chancellor's Office

Welcome to the webpages of the Vice-Chancellor’s Office. These pages have been designed to give an overview of the activities of the Vice-Chancellor’s Office and to provide contact details and information about the Vice-Chancellor, the University Executive and the Senior Management Group.

Professor Andrew Wathey is the Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of Northumbria University.

As Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Professor Wathey is the principal academic and administrative officer of the University and has an overarching responsibility for maintaining and promoting efficiency, academic excellence and financial robustness within the institution. He is supported in doing so by the University Executive.

The University has four Academic Faculties and nine Service Departments. Each Faculty is managed by an Executive Dean who reports to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International Development). Services are managed by Service Directors who report to the Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Chief Operating Officer and Pro Vice-Chancellors. You can view the University’s structure here: University Organisation Chart (pdf).

The Chair of the University’s Board of Governors and Pro-Chancellor is Chris Sayers. The Board of Governors has 22 members, the majority drawn from commerce, industry, the professions and the public sector. It also includes staff, student and Academic Board representatives, and co-opted members.

The Chancellor of the University is The Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson.

Latest News and Features

More news

Back to top