Skip navigation

Arts, Design and Social Sciences Executive Team

Meet the Executive team within Arts, Design and Social Sciences.

Arts, Design and Social Sciences Executive Team work closely with the University Executive to set and realise the strategic direction of its departments. Their activities cover the whole range of activities from ensuring the smooth running of courses and ensuring an outstanding student experience to developing research activity and managing international, business and community partnerships.

Prof Caron Gentry | Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor
caron.gentry@northumbria.ac.uk


Prof Julian Wright
| Acting Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor (Education)
julian.wright@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Katherine Baxter | Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor (Research & Knowledge Exchange)
katherine.baxter@northumbria.ac.uk

Dr Solomon Lennox | Head of Department - Arts
solomon.lennox@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Heather Robson |  Head of Department – Design 
h.robson@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Charlotte Alston | Acting Head of Department – Humanities
charlotte.alston@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Catherine Palmer | Head of Department – Social Sciences
catherine2.palmer@northumbria.ac.uk

Katherine Fawcett | Faculty Registrar
Katherine.fawcett@northumbria.ac.uk





Latest News and Features

Professor Mike Lim undertaking research in Canada’s Inuit Nunangat. Image credit Weronika Murray
Black-necked spitting cobra
Dr Mark Goddard.
Professor Matthew Johnson has been involved in research which has modelled the impact a Universal Basic Income could have on poverty and inequality.
Northumbria University has launched a new report that sets out its social impact and identifies where it is spreading opportunity to those who need it most.  The Social Mobility Impact Report has been developed in partnership with former Education Secretary Rt Hon Justine Greening.
MFA student Celia Burbush, MFA co-Programme Leader Gavin Butt and Deputy Head of Arts, Steve Gilroy, are pictured outside the new look Gallery North.
Minister for Science, Research and Innovation opens £2m investment in region’s Engineering and Environment students
REF 2021

Back to top