Skip navigation

Arts, Design and Social Sciences Executive Team

Meet the Executive team within Arts, Design and Social Sciences.

Arts, Design and Social Sciences Executive Team work closely with the University Executive to set and realise the strategic direction of its departments. Their activities cover the whole range of activities from ensuring the smooth running of courses and ensuring an outstanding student experience to developing research activity and managing international, business and community partnerships.

Prof Caron Gentry | Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor
caron.gentry@northumbria.ac.uk


Prof Julian Wright
| Acting Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor (Education)
julian.wright@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Katherine Baxter | Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor (Research & Knowledge Exchange)
katherine.baxter@northumbria.ac.uk

Dr Solomon Lennox | Head of Department - Arts
solomon.lennox@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Heather Robson |  Head of Department – Design 
h.robson@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Charlotte Alston | Acting Head of Department – Humanities
charlotte.alston@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Catherine Palmer | Head of Department – Social Sciences
catherine2.palmer@northumbria.ac.uk

Katherine Fawcett | Faculty Registrar
Katherine.fawcett@northumbria.ac.uk





Latest News and Features

a headshot image of Andy Smith smiling at the camera with an image of the sun in the background
Care leavers covenant
Auschwitz-Birkenau
Jacinda Ardern. Photo Credit NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organization
Creative writing lecturer, May Sumbwanyambe, from the department of Humanities at Northumbria.
The Ukrainian flag. Getty Images
The Lit & Phil, Newcastle. Image by Sally Ann Norman
EXPERT COMMENT: Why food is such a powerful symbol in political protest

Back to top