Skip navigation

History Taking and Physical Assessment (Adult/Child) - Level 6 - AC0246

BOOK NOW

About this course

This module is commissioned by Health Education England as part of its continuing workforce development (CWD) portfolio. If you are interested in participating, please complete the application form and gain authorisation from your Line Manager and your Trust Training Coordinator.

To apply please make a note of the module start month, click on book now and choose the application for the correct starting month. Once your application is complete we will contact you in order to confirm whether or not you have been allocated a place. If you receive a place you will be emailed an official offer letter, you will need to respond confirming your place within 10 working days.

If you have any queries please contact us via email at hl.academic.support@northumbria.ac.uk

This intensive course will introduce you to the process of history taking and assessing the physical manifestations of common disease processes. You will get the opportunity to evaluate routine clinical investigations and assess the severity of symptom complexes relating to common gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, respiratory and neurological conditions.

This course would suit a range of healthcare professionals who would like to develop their practice in the area of history taking and physical assessment. It is recommended for those practitioners who are either currently required to use these skills in practice or in the near future.

The content of the module will include the following:

  • Health history skills
  • Understanding sepsis and its management
  • History and examination of the Cardiovascular system
  • History and examination of the Respiratory system
  • History and examination of the Gastrointestinal system
  • History and examination of the Neurological system
  • Understanding Acute Kidney Injury and its management
  • Timetabled supervised practice.

Study Dates for September Cohort:

Thursday 13th September

Thursday 20th September

Thursday 27th September

Thursday 4th October

Thursday 11th October

Thursday 18th October

Thursday 25th October

Thursday 1st November

Thursday 8th November

Thursday 15th November

Thursday 22nd November

Thursday 29th November

Thursday 6th December

Study Dates for January Cohort:

Thursday 10th January

Thursday 17th January

Thursday 24th January

Thursday 31st January 

Thursday 7th February

Thursday 14th February

Thursday 21st February

Thursday 28th February

Thursday 7th March

Thursday 14th March

Thursday 21st March

Thursday 28th March

Thursday 4th April

Study Dates for February Cohort:

Wednesday 6th February

Wednesday 13th February

Wednesday 20th February

Wednesday 27th February

Wednesday 6th March

Wednesday 13th March

Wednesday 20th March

Wednesday 27th March

Wednesday 3rd April

Wednesday 10th April

Wednesday 17th April

Wednesday 24th April

Wednesday 1st May

Learn from the Best

Designed by a multi-professional team including Physiotherapists, Occupational Therapists, Nurses, Midwives, Social Care Staff and Medical practitioners our range of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is tailored towards individuals who are driving and enabling practice development in NHS North East.

Northumbria is the principal provider of nurse education in the North East of England and was named Nurse Education Provider of the Year (post-registration) for three consecutive years by Student Nursing Times.

We have excellent relationships with partner services in health, social care and social work and our range of CPD provision supports practitioners and managers to engage in professional learning and then examine how this can be integrated in the practice arena.

 

Teaching and Assessment

The module will be delivered through a combination of guided study, structured lectures and practical workshops. You will be able to participate in practice sessions from the beginning of this intensive course. An opportunity to practice these skills is timetabled in the module.

You will be assessed on both theoretical and practical elements of the module, through a multiple choice and short answer examination, as well as a multi-station objective structured clinical examination (OSCE).

 

Learning Environment

This module is based at our Coach Lane Campus where you will have access to cutting-edge facilities with technology embedded through all aspects of your CPD course.

 

.

Research-rich Learning

Northumbria University has been ranked in the top quartile in the UK for research power in Allied Health Sciences and Nursing. Additionally, more than 80% of our research activity in Allied Health Sciences and Nursing is rated as world-leading or internationally excellent (REF 2014).

 

Give Your Career an Edge

As well as enhancing your CV, this module will enable you to use the intellectual and theoretical skills gained to develop your practice in the area of patient examination and management.

 

Course info

Award Type 20 Credit, Level 6

Sector Healthcare Public Health

Study Mode Part Time

Location Coach Lane Campus

Start September 2018, January 2019 or February 2019

Duration 13 Weeks

This course would suit a range of healthcare professionals who would like to develop their practice in the area of history taking and physical assessment. It is recommended for those practitioners who are either currently required to use these skills in practice or in the near future.

Previous evidence of level 5 study.

Back to top