Skip navigation

Research

The Research team supports academics and post graduate researchers across the University to create new knowledge and deliver excellent research by:

  • providing expertise and advice on accessing and applying for research funding
  • supporting impacts from research so that it can benefit the wider world
  • managing and delivering research-related training programmes for staff
  • co-ordinating the University’s ethical procedures to ensure the highest standards of integrity in our research
  • providing expert insight and advice on research-based policy and strategy underpinning the University’s Research Excellence Framework submission

Support for research policies and initiatives includes: Open Access and research data management; research management systems; ethics; impact; training; early career researcher activity; and support for initiatives such as the Concordat for the Career Development of Researchers and Athena SWAN.

Visit and subscribe to our research support blog


Research Team


Cd1Christine Downes
REF/Research Support Coordinator

christine.downes@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 7261

 

 

 

Jonathon Brown
Impact Evaluation/Evidence Coordinator

jonathon.brown@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 3622

 

 

Gillian Davison
Impact Evaluation/Evidence Coordinator

gillian.davison@northumbria.ac.uk




Gill Drinkald
Policy Coordinator

gill.drinkald@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 4765

 

 

Laura Hutchinson
Research Policy Manager

laura.hutchinson@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 4257

 

 

Lucy Jowett
Impact Manager

lucy.jowett@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 7421

 

 

Sk1Samantha King
Research Development Manager

Faculty of Health & Life Sciences

samantha.king@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 7108

 


Sarah AgnewSarah Agnew 
Policy Coordinator (Acting)

sarah.agnew@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 3656

 

 

Sm1Scott McGee
Research Development Manager

Faculty of Arts, Design & Social Sciences

scott.mcgee@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 7691

 

 

Alisha Peart
Impact Manager

alisha.peart@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 5915

 

 

 Hugh RhodesHugh Rhodes
IP & Commercialisation Manager

hugh.rhodes@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 243 7638 | 0772 007 6837

 

 

 Alison Vipond
Head of Research Development

alison.vipond@northumbria.ac.uk

 

 

 Dy1David Young
Research Development Manager (EE)

david.young@northumbria.ac.uk

0191 227 7793


 

Latest News and Features

More news

Back to top