Skip navigation

Programme Schedule

A large part of your experience whilst attending Northumbria International Summer School, as well as studying, is to enjoy all that our city and region have to offer.

       

Our dedicated team have designed a social programme which really brings out the best of what a North East summer has to offer, allowing you to explore the history and beauty of our city and region.

Newcastle has been regularly named as a top city destination in travel guides, embodying a vibrant mix of culture, the arts, shopping and nightlife.  Whether its galleries, monuments or stunning Georgian architecture, to the endless choice of restaurants or the biggest shopping centre in the UK, there truly is something for everyone to explore!

We have designed two different schedules for both programmes - please see below for more details

Welcome Dinner

Welcome Dinner

Step back in time for a sumptuous feast, served on communal tables, by monks and town wenches, in Blackfriars’s candle-lit Banquet Hall, which King Edward III used to receive Royal Scot, Edward Balliol in 1334 and has been meticulously refurbished using local craftsmen.  The perfect opportunity to experience what life was like in Newcastle in the middle ages and get to know your fellow students in a relaxed and entertaining setting.

 

Newcastle and Alnwick Programme

   AM  PM
Monday, June 17 - Friday, June 21 2019    Academic Content  Academic Content / Free Time
Saturday, June 22 2019

Trip to York (all day)

Sunday, June 23 2019  Free Time

Monday, June 24 - Thursday, June 27 2019 

Academic Content

Academic Content / Free Time

Friday, June 28 2019   Academic Content

Depart to Alnwick Castle for weekend stay 

Saturday, June 29 2019  Activities at Alnwick Castle

(broom-flying lesson, film tour, Alnwick tour, Market place etc)

Sunday, June 30 2019

Northumberland tour then head home to Newcastle

Monday, July 1 - Thursday, July 4 2019  Academic Content  Academic Content / Free Time
Friday, July 5 2019  Academic Assessment  Free Time
Saturday, July 6 2019  Free Time
Sunday, July 7 2019  Relocate to Alnwick Castle for the Alnwick cohort
Monday, July 8 - Thursday, July 11 2019  Academic Content  Academic Content
Friday, July 12 2019  Field trip to Durham Castle and Cathedral
Saturday, July 13 2019  Trip to Edinburgh
Sunday, July 14 2019  Free Time
Monday, July 15 - Thursday, July 18 2019

Academic Content

 Academic Content

Friday, July 19 2019  Field-work at site of choice
Saturday, July 20 - Sunday, July 21 2019  Free Time
 Monday, July 22 - Thursday, July 25 2019  Academic Content  Academic Content
 Friday, July 26 2019  Free Time  Afternoon Tea
 Saturday, July 27 2019  End of Newcastle and Alnwick programme

 

 

Weekend Trips

Weekend Trips

Our dedicated team will organise two weekend trips included in the programme. For 2019, below are our planned trips:

Trip 1 - City of York

Located only one hour by train from Newcastle, York is a walled city that was founded by the ancient Romans. We will visit some iconic places, such as the York Minster which has medieval stained glass and two functioning bell towers.  We will also have a leisurely stroll along Britain's prettiest street, The Shambles, with its wealth of shopping, restaurants, ghost walks and tours. A new, magical Harry Potter-themed shop has also recently been opened here. We will make a stopover at the National Railway Museum, home to over 300 years of history and over a million wonderful objects. 

Trip 2- Alnwick Castle, Hogwarts in the Harry Potter films!

Alnwick Castle is a stately home and castle only a one hour drive north of Newcastle, in the English county of Northumberland. It is the seat of the Duke of Northumberland, built following the Norman conquest, around 1096. After Windsor Castle, it is the second largest inhabited castle in England. An increased interest from the public was generated when it was used as a filming site as Hogwarts in the Harry Potter films. You will get to stay over one night as part of our programme and enjoy a special visit with a Harry Potter tour. It's not everyday you get to stay in a castle!  

 

Trip 3 - Edinburgh

Edinburgh is probably best known for its International Festivals; most of them take place in August. However, there are definitely plenty more things to do all year. A bustling and vibrant city, home to fabulous summer festivals but packed with medieval buildings and the elegance of the Georgian New Town, walk along the famous Royal Mile.

You can explore the historical Edinburgh Castle, the Queen's Scottish home - also known as the Palace of Holyroodhouse; the start attraction is the Queen's Gallery which showcases the best art from the Royal Collections.

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions is another great day to spend time indoors; here you can have a 360-degree view of the city from the roof, experience holographic exhibits that might make you feel a bit dizzy but amazed at the same time.


Latest News and Features

More news
More events

Upcoming events

Social Change: How you can make a difference!
Social Change: How you can make a difference!
All about teacher training

Back to top